Ontario Celebrates the Outstanding Contributions of Volunteers

The Ontario government is recognizing 15 Ontarians in Mississauga-Malton with a Volunteer Service Award, an annual award honouring the exceptional contributions of individuals providing dedicated service to a single organization.

Recipients of the award were recognized at a virtual ceremony held on November 29 and will receive a personalized certificate and lapel pin to acknowledge and thank them for their years of service.

“Looking after our neighbours and community has never been more important, and I am grateful to see so many volunteers continue to selflessly step up and embody the best of the Ontario spirit,” said [MPP name]. “On behalf of Mississauga-Malton, I want to thank and express my deepest gratitude to these incredible Ontarians receiving this year’s Volunteer Service Award for helping to make our community strong and vibrant.”

The 4,555 recipients of the 2022 Ontario Volunteer Service Award, from across the province, support a wide range of organizations and causes, including those serving families, children and youth, vulnerable people, hospitals, senior centres and food security programs. These volunteers also help as board members, in fundraising, in promoting the arts and showcasing the different cultures that make Ontario unique.

The 2022 Ontario Volunteer Service Awards recipients from Mississauga-Malton include:

Volunteer Service Awards – 2 to 4 Years of Service

  • Ayesha Nayak (Satsang Canada)
  • Bruna De Carvalho Aiala (The Mississauga Food Bank)
  • Jaspreet Sanghera (Trillium Health Partners – Mississauga Hospital)
  • Meesha Hasan (MICBA Forum Italia Community Services)
  • Megha Malemath (Kannada Sangha)

5 Years of Service

  • Darielle Baker (Greater Toronto Airports Authority – Airport Operations and Passenger Experience)
  • Kaveenaa Velnathan (SCREEN of Peel Community Association)
  • Srikanth Sankaranarayanan (Sringeri Vidya Bharati Foundation Canada)

10 Years

  • Mukur De (Canada Odisha Society of Americas)
  • Shu Yi Zhong (Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care – Mississauga Division)

15 Years of Service

  • Sharmila Shahani (Trillium Health Partners – Credit Valley Hospital)
  • Spiridon Bot (Professional Engineers Ontario – Mississauga Chapter)

20 Years of Service

  • Carol Leung (Professional Engineers Ontario – Mississauga Chapter)
  • Debbie Malisani (Provincial Women’s Softball Association)

25 Years of Service

  • Carmela M. Liparoti (MICBA Forum Italia Community Services)

“Every day thousands of volunteers from all over the province dedicate their time and talents to make Ontario a better place,” said Premier Doug Ford. “As Premier, I want to thank each and every volunteer for the efforts they make and the examples they set for the next generation of Ontarians. We could not ask for better role models and we are so grateful to them all.”

“Volunteers are the backbones of our communities. The incredible volunteers in [MPP RIDING] have embodied the best of the Ontario spirit and have shown – through their commitment, dedication and selfless service – that we can achieve anything when we come together as Team Ontario,” said Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism. “Our government thanks these incredible leaders, changemakers and everyday heroes for the incredible work they do to make our communities and our province a stronger and better place to live, work and succeed.”

For more information about the program or to submit a nomination, please visit the Ontario Volunteer Service Award webpage


  • Since 1986, more than 250,000 volunteers have been recognized through the Ontario Volunteer Service Award. 
  • Adult volunteers are recognized for five to 65+ years of continuous service in five- year increments. 
  • Youth volunteers are recognized for two or more years of continuous service.